phone

  • 4525 Liberty Ave
  • Mon-Fri: 4pm-12am
  • Sat-Sun: 12pm-12am
  • find us


Find Us Online:

facebook store page dreaming ant store rss linkedin myspace twitter
youtube facebook fan page jae ruberto's flickr photostream dreaming ant staff rss dreaming ant foursquare checkin
yelp cityvoter citysearch judysbook

C20005635's reviews:

Antibodies (2d-Antikoerper)
Rating: 8 August 8, 2008

Aristocrats, The (2005)
Rating: 8 What to do when a joke isn't funny August 10, 2008

The Aristocrats is about an old joke that has passed from comic to comic over the years, with each one creating it as he/she tells is. The joke is not funny, really, just an exaggeration of over-the-top ideas as told to an agent. The movie is very funny, as each comic puts his/her spin on the history of the joke. Some comics tell the joke, some merely skirt around the details. Gilbert Gottfried, as always, puts a great spin on things, but truly Bob Saget might tell the most ridiculous tale. Or is it Doug Stanhope rendering the tale while his toddler listens? I daresay there isn't anyone who finds the joke funny, but the inventive ways people use to spin the tale are creative, funny, clever, morbid, disgusting. If strong language offends you, you might do as Phyllis Diller did upon hearing it - faint.

The extras are worthwhile. Listening to Pat Cooper explain his genius is always fun.

Arrested Development: 1st Season - d1/3
Rating: 10 Uncensored pilot August 18, 2008

This was a show that many friends suggested we watch at the time it was on and we just never got into it. Finally, we took the plunge and have not regretted it. The pilot may not hook you at first, but the show builds and grows on you.

There's always money in the banana stand.

Arrested Development: 1st Season - d2/3
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Arrested Development: 1st Season - d3/3
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Arrested Development: 2nd Season - d1/3
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Arrested Development: 2nd Season - d2/3
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Arrested Development: 2nd Season - d3/3
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Arrested Development: 3rd Season - d1/2
Rating: 9 August 18, 2008

Arrested Development: 3rd Season - d2/2
Rating: 9 August 18, 2008

August Underground's Mordum
Rating: 1 August 22, 2008

Battle Royale (2d)
Rating: 9 August 18, 2008

Battle Royale II
Rating: 2 August 18, 2008

Better Luck Tomorrow
Rating: 4 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 1st Season - d1/3
Rating: 8 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 1st Season - d2/3
Rating: 8 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 1st Season - d3/3
Rating: 8 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 2nd Season - d1-2/6
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 2nd Season - d3-4/6
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 2nd Season - d5-6/6
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 3rd Season - d1-2/6
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 3rd Season - d3-4/6
Rating: 10 The Zeppo August 18, 2008

The Zeppo is Xander's time to really shine and he does.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 3rd Season - d5-6/6
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 4th Season - d1-2/6
Rating: 9 Believe August 18, 2008

If nothing else, Cher will run through your head for a while.

Fear Itself and Beer Bad are two of the more memorable episodes, and among my very favorite for quotes.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 4th Season - d3-4/6
Rating: 10 Hush August 18, 2008

If you hate this season, as many seem to, it is worthwhile just for "Hush". There is good reason that it is one of the most talked about episodes ever.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 4th Season - d5-6/6
Rating: 10 It's about Jonathon August 18, 2008

Superstar is wonderful. Restless, again, one of the most talked about episodes among fandom, is really worth seeing.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 6th Season - d1-2/6
Rating: 10 Is Buffy back? August 18, 2008

Who knew a Buffy musical could be so entertaining? If you have a chance to go to a live screening of the musical, you should, although I've heard they have been stopped. Just think, "shut up Dawn"!

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 6th Season - d3-4/6
Rating: 9 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 6th Season - d5-6/6
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 7th Season - d1-2/6
Rating: 10 Spike comes into his own August 18, 2008

"Conversation with Dead People" is heart-wrenching.

"Sleeper" is one of the most touching episodes. Spike's issues come out for all to judge and I think makes him one of the most interesting characters of any series.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 7th Season - d3-4/6
Rating: 9 August 18, 2008

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 7th Season - d5-6/6
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Chariots of Fire
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Darkon (2006)
Rating: 7 September 27, 2008

Day of the Wacko (Dzien Swira)
Rating: 8 August 18, 2008

Deathdream
Rating: 7 August 18, 2008

Deathwatch (2002)
Rating: 6 August 18, 2008

Devil and Daniel Johnston, The
Rating: 9 August 18, 2008

Devil's Playground
Rating: 9 August 18, 2008

F*cK
Rating: 8 More than entertaining August 11, 2008

This documentary is full of laughs and some surprising facts. It's a nice blend of humor, politics, things you never realizes, and vanquishing myths you thought were truth.

Firefly (TV Series) - d1/4
Rating: 10 Gotta love Jayne August 18, 2008

This show combined the old west with space, two things I never thought should collide, yet it worked. Jayne is always good for comic relief. "You know what the chain of command is. It's the chain I go get and beat you with 'til ya understand who's in ruttin' command here."

Firefly (TV Series) - d2/4
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Firefly (TV Series) - d3/4
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Firefly (TV Series) - d4/4
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Flight of the Conchords 1st Season - d1/2
Rating: 8 August 10, 2008

Funny Games
Rating: 4 August 18, 2008

Gearon, Tierney: The Mother Project
Rating: 6 Candid life isn't always so candid August 10, 2008

So, everyone has mother issues. The documentary certainly doesn't appear to hold much back. Gearon, as a photographer, has an amazing eye for her subjects. There is no denying that she creates visions that are extraordinary. I wonder how much of her personal life is sacrificed to create her visions. Perhaps I should be offended by her nude children in masks. I wasn't. What did offend me was that her children and her mother to a large extent are merely props. I kept wondering if she felt love for her children or merely was guarding them because they gave great photos. Was her mindfulness of her children merely the same regard she might show for an expensive camera? When her daughter hits her son and he cries while her mother suggests she soothe her son, she instead reaches for the camera.

I treat my mother well, but if a camera crew followed me around full-time, I am sure I would have moments that were negative, fights, harsh words, etc. I don't expect Tierney to be a saint, but she seemed abusive at times. She seemed to grapple with exploiting her mother, even as she did it. Maybe art can only come from great selfishness.

In the extras, we see more interactions with her children as she exposes them to other countries, but it always involves a photo-op. Did we really need to see her son peeing in public more than once? I give her kudos for courage to expose herself to us without apology or apprehension.

Grimm (2003)
Rating: 8 Must see more from this director! November 4, 2008

This movie encapsulates the true folk tales of old. This is not a "disneyfied" story and may not be for people who are not well familiar with many of the less tangible Grimm's brothers folk tales. I daresay it would be hard for anyone to predict every aspect of this movie. The twists and turns compel you to see the ending!

Hanzo the Razor: 01 Sword of Justice
Rating: 7 Odd, yet compelling August 13, 2008

What can be said about a man who tortures his penis in order to make him more effective in his job? Just watch it. Don't look for reality, sensibility, just watch.

Hard Candy (2005)
Rating: 7 Don't expect Juno August 11, 2008

Upon the success of Juno, a lot of people now know Ellen Page and expect that cute, quirky girl they saw on the screen. Make no mistake, this is a tough topic and she does a fine job with her role. To say more about the movie might give too much away. Just rent it.

Haunting, The (1963)
Rating: 9 Creepy August 18, 2008

This is a classic horror film. Most horror films are full of special effects and lots of gore. This one relies on imagination. Watch it in total darkness, with the sound turned up and I dare you to not be nervous about the sounds coming through the walls.

Of Freaks and Men (Pro Urodov i Lyudey)
Rating: 8 August 18, 2008

Office, The: 1st Season (2d-BBC)
Rating: 10 August 15, 2008

Otis (2008)
Rating: 8 Worth a look November 4, 2008

This movie offers a new twist on a serial killer. Just when you feel it can't get any worse, it does. The comic moments assist us in dealing with the horrors around us. I was surprised at how well Ashley Johnson played her role. Solid performances aid this quirky film.

Overnight (2003)
Rating: 8 Overnight sensation - a cautionary tale September 18, 2008

This is the story of what happens when someone who has a great deal of faith in himself forgets who helped him along the way and bites the hand that feeds him. Stories of Harvey Weinstein being tough are legendary, but for once, I was inclined to feel what Harvey might have felt when hearing Troy Duffy's story. While I loved "Boondock Saints" and feel that Duffy could have gone further with his career, I see that he didn't just burn his bridges, he blew them up! I have heard rumors of a sequel to BS, can't imagine anyone wanting to give money to Duffy, though.

Pittsburgh (2006)
Rating: 6 That's the title of my autobiography August 22, 2008

If you watch the extras, the review title makes sense.

I adore Jeff Goldblum and I am glad that he made his mockumentary about his hometown. I wish it had been a bit funnier, although it is full of wit. Will be too slow for many. I wish he would have chosen some new location to showcase the city, but there are some nice views of Kennywood. The quirky film goes well with his quirky personality.

Met him when I was a teen and he was new in his career and have enjoyed following him through the years.

If you watch the bonus material, make sure you don't miss Illeana and Jeff being lifted - worth the rental for that ridiculousness.

Repo! The Genetic Opera (2008)
Rating: 5 Visually stunning March 17, 2009

Reviews of this have been all over the place from greatest ever to worst. I fall in the middle. I think everyone should see it at least once because it is very stylish. I thought the storyline was interesting and was intrigued with musical horror. There is a lot of gore and guts, no worries if you are looking for that. The singing is fine to great, depending on the actor. I thought Paris Hilton was ok, not great, but ok. Anthony sang his heart out. In fact, I think most everyone sang their hearts out. The music composition seemed topnotch.

Some of the technology gimmicks, such as 3D photos were superb.

What didn't I like? The lyrics, mostly. Out of the songs, there were only two or three that I liked. I detested much of the poorly written lyrical dialogue. I wanted to "love" the songs and I really didn't. Often I wished I was watching it while listening to some other great music.

Watching it evoked memories of some stunning music videos from years past, particularly Nine Inch Nails. Made me wonder if some of the people involved with making it had cut their teeth on such videos.

Loved the style - including the use of live action and comics, the story and many of the performances. Hated the lyrics.

Would I watch it again? I believe that I would be willing to give it another try, but not very soon. After all, I appreciate the creativity, just didn't enjoy the writing.

Serenity (2d-Collector's Edition)
Rating: 10 August 18, 2008

Stone Reader (2d)
Rating: 9 August 18, 2008

Stuck on You
Rating: 5 August 18, 2008

Subway
Rating: 4 August 18, 2008

Sunset Boulevard
Rating: 9 Are you ready for your close-up? August 17, 2008

Such great dark humor.

Swimming Pool
Rating: 6 August 17, 2008

Swingers
Rating: 6 August 18, 2008

Tales From Gimli Hospital
Rating: 3 August 18, 2008

Talk To Her (Viva Pedro Edition)
Rating: 7 August 17, 2008

Teeth (2008)
Rating: 8 Gruesome to the tune of the Lion King November 4, 2008

Ok, so when the diagnosis shows up online, in the movie, you may find yourself singing it in place of words from a famous Lion King song.

This film is unsettling, especially for men. This is also a lot more graphic than I expected, but if you can handle it, you should see it.

My suggestion is to keep telling yourself, "it's just a movie"...

Thesis (Tesis)
Rating: 6 August 18, 2008

Thin Blue Line, The
Rating: 8 Compelling documentary August 16, 2008

I like Morris' documentaries, what I've seen so far. This one is slightly slow at first, and people have gripes that his reenactments don't belong in a documentary, but I found it clever and frankly helpful to unfold the story. My gut reaction is that I am saddened that the DVD seems to have a 2005 copyright date, yet there were not updates to the story in the extras. It would have been nice to hear the events that took place as a result of the documentary receiving so much attention.

This Film is Not Yet Rated
Rating: 8 Think you know everything about Hollywood? March 17, 2009

For years, I have been disgusted by the rating system being inconsistent and finally there is a documentary to help me understand why.

After watching the film, we watched the deleted scenes and I wished most of them had been included, but as it is, the documentary works.

This exposes the studio power that is wielded on what we see and how we live. Much as I enjoy movies, I find myself drawn more to indies and documentaries, probably because they don't come out of the giant machinery that runs most of the film industry.

I have to admit that I was drawn to this film in particular because I have disliked Jack Valenti for years and thought him a dictator. This film explains his powerful position for so many years as well as the impact he has made on all of us.

Tideland (2d-Collector's Edition)
Rating: 10 Fairy Tales are dark August 17, 2008

In this world, we view fairy tales as something to entertain our children. However, few realize that these folk tales were meant as cautionary tales. They were meant to scare children into proper behavior. For example, many don't realize that what we call Cinderella was collected in various forms over the years, most notably via the Grimm brothers, and they published each manifestation, including a version where the young, "put-upon", abused girl of the story was named, "Cinder-slut". This tale was to show children that they must obey their parents or suffer ill consequences. Modern fairy tales have been given the "Disney" treatment, so that we might find them amusing or sweet or full of hopes and dreams.

Tideland favors the original sensibility about a fairy tale. We see Jeliza-Rose's life through her eyes. There is an innocence, as Terry Gilliam suggests in his opening monologue and as such, the sexual mores we place on this girl's world are further advanced than she can grasp.

From her rough reality, we are placed into more of a trance or dream as her life unfolds around her. She doesn't put the same constraints on her world that we might. Her treatment of death is indeed, childish, for she is a child. She can only handle such adult concepts with her own knowledge and experience. Much of childhood involves a darkness that few remember as adults. We grow up and put away our fears or joys or interests as we grow older. Terry has allowed us to remember some of those unusual and uninformed ideas we had.

A child living with two junkies might horrify the viewer, especially when she is shown lovingly "cooking" her father's heroin, yet we need to realize that for her, that is normal life. It is not judged by her as evil or dangerous or wrong, it is simply what has always happened.

I haven't read the book, although I have an interest in it after seeing this. This is a dark tale, full of woe and sorrow with bright spots of glee. Isn't that what life is anyway? We absorb and grow from our sorrows to better appreciate our joys. Sometimes there is a happy ending, even if it makes no sense at the time. Terry directs a film of darkness with that glimmer of hope for the future, while remembering that we must still live in the moment.

Tin Drum, The (2d-Criterion)
Rating: 10 Can't shake it August 16, 2008

This one still stays fresh in my mind, though we rented it from DA years ago. Haunting, disturbing, fascinating. Years ago, I read an article by Stephen King who encouraged anyone to run out and read any books put on banned lists. Since this is the video/dvd equivalent, people should see it and judge it for themselves.

Tomie
Rating: 2 August 18, 2008

Trainspotting (2d)
Rating: 4 Not a fan August 16, 2008

Not a fan of drug movies, but this one really didn't work for me. Really like a lot of Danny Boyle's other films, just not this one.

Triplets of Belleville, The
Rating: 5 August 18, 2008

Twilight Samurai, The (Tasogare Seibei)
Rating: 9 Wish everyone would see it August 16, 2008

This is such an admirable work. The lead is so endearing - struggling in his job as a samurai in the end days, struggling to raise his family well, struggling in the world that is changing fast.

Uzumaki (Whirlpool)
Rating: 1 August 18, 2008

Versus (2d)
Rating: 9 August 18, 2008

Waiting For Guffman
Rating: 6 August 16, 2008

Waking Life
Rating: 8 August 18, 2008

Wal-Mart: The High Cost of Low Price
Rating: 8 In case you didn't already dislike Wal-Mart August 23, 2008

I have never liked supporting them and have bought items from them in the past with great reservation. After seeing this documentary, I have even more reason to pause before purchasing there again.

I used to look at the "bright side", that I was supporting the people who needed the jobs, but this film sheds a new light on whether I am supporting my neighbor working there or keeping him/her on the government's payroll - learning that many workers not only use government assistance programs to supplement their low pay, but are in fact encouraged by the company to do so.

I am not so naive to believe that any corporation really cares about me, the consumer, or our environment. I don't want to see anyone out of a job, but I do want to see corporations like Wal-Mart change their ways. Unions are often a dangerous concept, necessary evils to protect workers from outrageous demands that sometimes turn workers into lazy thugs, but until we find the proper solution to these issues, I must support union over the tactics that Wal-Mart takes with it's employees.

What angers me most is that everyone, myself included, looks to save money, but sometimes we need to see what it is really costing us in the long run. I might spend 50% less on a pair of shoes at Wal-Mart,but how many people are living in poverty or near it as a result of that savings. Those same people that need the money the most continue to support Wal-Mart because they cannot afford other choices. Watching them annihilate the economy and people of surrounding areas shows me that those bargains today will not be bargains later. We need to seriously consider the impact of savings today that sacrifice our tomorrows.

Over the years, people I have known who are very patriotic suggest that we should only buy American and many of them pack their houses with bargains from Wal-mart which were often made in China. Hmmm.....

Wasabi
Rating: 7 Reno makes it worthwhile August 16, 2008

It isn't his best performance, but a fun film.

Wisconsin Death Trip
Rating: 6 August 18, 2008

Yes Men, The
Rating: 6 August 16, 2008

home
lists
NEW ARRIVALS THIS WEEK
RECENT REVIEWS